• Russell W. Currier

2016 Student Essay Contest Winners

Committee Chair Dr. Russell W. Currier is pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Smithcors Student Veterinary History Essay Contest with prizes in honor of Dr. Elizabeth Atwood Lawrence. The winner and titles of their essays are:

1st Prize Alison Smith ’19, Tufts University

The Rise and Fall of “Wonder Drugs”: The story of Antibiotics in Agriculture.

2nd Prize Laura Johnson ’17, North Carolina State University

The Origin and Legacy of Christian Petersen’s Gentle Doctor

3rd Prize Kelsey Madden ’19, Kansas State University

The Guinea Pig: Endearing, Enduring or Both?

4th Prize Jessica Zeiger ’19, Purdue University

Making the Shoe Fit: A Brief Review of the History of Farriery.


Recent Posts

See All

© 2020 by AVMHS, Inc. Proudly created with