top of page
  • skw285

2023 Student History Essay Contest Winners

Updated: Jul 4, 2023

Contest Committee Chair Dr. Martha Littlefield is very pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Smithcors Student Veterinary History Essay Contest. Congratulations to these essayists and all students who submitted papers for blinded judging. These essays will be published in forthcoming issues of Veterinary Heritage.

1st Place Emma Gildner ’25 Oklahoma State University

The Taming of the Screw(worm): A History of the Sterile Insect Technique

2nd Place Reese Bailey ’25 Kansas State University

Nineteenth Century Urban Crisis: The Horse as a Public Health Hazard

3rd Place (tie) Mahala Furman ‘24 Oklahoma State University

Dr. Sophia Yin: Turning the Tides of Veterinary Medicine

3rd Place (tie) Carlie Dill ’25 Kansas State University

Merrill’s Marauders: The Brave Men and Mules Who Found Victory

4th Place Courtney Labé’25 University of Minnesota

Becoming Mr. Turkey: The Career of Dr. Benjamin S. Pomeroy

32 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page